image23

An Introduction to Mirror Stage (The Lacan Picture Book)

image17

image6

image14

image15

image10

image5

image24

image12

image22

image3

image18

image4

image2

image21

image9

image13

image11

image1

image20

image7

The ‘Mirror Stage’ is one of Lacan’s most complex theory that explores the infant and the mirror relationship. By pairing Lacan text with photographs I am able to illustrate the ‘Mirror Stage’ using my self a model. The images have been carefully cropped to focus on me showing my relationship with the mirror as well as myself. These photographs are designed to not look pretty and be raw which goes against this ideal image the mirror stage talks about. The images reflect the text but also go against it as they refer to the infant and I am clearly not a infant. In a way it show my constant struggle with my own reflection and how I suffer with what Lacan refers to as not being my ideal image. The reflections/photographs here are the ideal self I can’t be.

One thought on “An Introduction to Mirror Stage (The Lacan Picture Book)

  1. Pingback: Postcapitalist Cultural Theory and Discourse | Hipster Racist

Leave a Reply

